Lake Samaranger

Lake Samaranger is located in the Tirol Alps in Austria on the Fern pass at an altitude of 1000 meters over sea level. It is sourced by ground water and has no outward flow. That's why the water is mostly crystal clear. Along with Lake Fernstein it is in private property of Hotel Schloss Fernsteinsee. Diving is only allowed for hotel guests and at checkin you have to show the logbook that you have at least 100 dives. Entry and exit is only permitted at the stairs and the number of divers at the same time is limited to four. August 10 to 11, 2013, 34 photos.

Tree with Slime Algae: There are many sunken trees on the ground of Lake Samaranger. Many of them are covered with a thick layer of slime algae and look like an enchanted landscape from a fairy tale. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 12:17:05

Branch with Slime Algae: A branch covered with slime algae on one of the many sunken trees in Lake Samaranger. Don't touch it and keep your distance or you will destroy this art of nature. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 12:22:02

Light Patterns: The sun shines through the water surface and paints these magical light patterns on the ground close to the shore. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 12:39:19

Fence: The fence to the left of the entry point with a reflection on the water surface. Maybe I should have hold my breath even longer to get a smoother water surface. Or was it the wind? — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 12:43:49

Split-View Entry: Split-View image at entry point. Here a diving model behind the fence would be nice, but whenever one needs a diver, there is nobody around and when there's a diver he's most likely at the wrong position. I've forgotten a raw potato to wipe over the dome port. This should reduce the drops on the glass. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 12:46:06

Entry Point: Entry and exit to the Lake Samaranger is only allowed here at the stairs. The ground is covered with gravel to reduce the amount of sediments that are being raised. These could cover the fragile water plants. Due to the cold water it may take up to ten years for them to recover. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:19:37

Diver with Fisheye: When diving in the icy cold and crystal clear water one gets the feeling of floating with zero gravity through open space. The bottom of the lake is covered with smooth sediments and should not be touched. Most of the ground looks like this but on the far side of the entry point there are lots of trees lying on the ground like mikado sticks. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:21:50

Tree with Slime Algae: The sunken trees are covered with slime algae. Don't touch them or they might fall off as shown on this picture. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:25:33

Tree Mikado: The trees on the ground of Lake Samaranger are lying around like mikado sticks. How did this happen? — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/60 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:30:13

Root Hole: There is a big hole in this root. This place is subject for many famous shots. Unfortunately no diver wanted to place himself behind it for taking a picture. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/100 s, F/3.2, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:33:51

Shooting Cross: The famous cross is located in the distant part of the lake. It is subject of many pictures. One can see the trees of the forest through the smooth water surface. Unfortunately the sun was covered by a cloud during this dive. With sunshine the water looks even more clear. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:48:11

Cross: This cross is the most popular subject for photograpy in Lake Samaranger. I had to hold my breath long enough so sthat the water surface did not get disturbed by my bubbles. The plate reads: "In memory of our diving experiences together. Reiner Thiele, born 18. 11. 1940, died 11. 1. 1971, SV-Tauchsportgruppe". I don't know the story behind this accident. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:48:47

Tree in the Middle of Lake: This tree is about in the center of the lake and all covered with slime algae. The whole ground is covered with a fragile algae carpet. As you can see there are some spots where the carpet was recently destroyed by divers who got too close. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 10 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/160 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, August 10, 2013 15:52:19

Two Divers: Two divers and one frog in Lake Samaranger. The sun shines and draws magical light patterns on the ground of the lake. This lets one forget the 6 °C cold water. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/9.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:20:32

2 Divers, 1 Frog: Two divers and one frog are diving through the crystal clear water. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:21:46

Three Divers: Three divers in crystal clear water of Lake Samaranger. One of them is using two sidemount tanks. One can see the forest through the silent water surface. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:24:12

Sidemount Diver: Are all here? Look back and also enjoy this beautiful view on that sunny day in the clear lake. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:24:43

Four Divers: The limit for concurrent divers in Lake Samaranger is four. Yep, I have seen only four divers. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:24:48

Diver: That's fun diving. Crystal clear water and shunshine. No stress and lazy paddling. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:27:36

Fallen Fir: On one side of the lake a fir has fallen into the water. Slowly it begins to decomposing and algae grow on it. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:31:17

Fir with Frogdiver: A frogman is diving under the fallen fir and enjoys the light and shadows under the twigs. Don't stay too long. The rising bubbles will rip off parts of the twigs which are raining down. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:32:51

Shore are: In the shallow water of the sore area at the fallen fir in Lake Samaranger. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:34:57

Split-View Fir: A split-view picture of the fallen fir. At this moment I realized that all pictures on this dive have been stored as JPEG instead of RAW. One can see it on the overexposed clouds. I also forgot to bring a half potato or apple to wipe the dome port so that there are no drops on it. Maybe I will remember it next time. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:36:26

Cross Photo Shooting: Photo shooting on the most popular sujet in this lake: The cross for a diver who had died hiere in 1971. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:43:19

Diver at Cross: This memorial for a diver who died in this lake 1971 has probably been photographed a thousand times. I like the sun and the light beams and shadows in this picture. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:43:50

Branches with Slime Algae: The branches of this sunken trees are all covered with slime algae. It's the same tree as on the first picture in this album. Here the sun was shining and I tried to position the vertical branch right in front of the sun. The water was crystal clear, the surface smooth and calm. I had to hold my breath long enough until all bubbles disappeared. With the fisheye lens and 180° field of view one usualy has its own bubbles when shooting upwards. Took some shots until the f-stop and flash intensity was right. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:50:40

Diver with Halo: Looking downwards with the fisheye lens lets the bottom of the lake look like a globe. I could see the shadow of the waves created by my bubbles expanding around my own shadow. Live it looked much better than on that picture. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 09:53:52

Diver with Camera: That were beautiful dives in Lake Samaranger. Everything was right: the weather, the people, the lake, the food ... only a bit too much booze on the first night. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 14:50:40

Tree with thick slime algae: A thick layer of slime algae covered this sunken tree. The whole landscape under water looks mystical like in a fairy tale. Where's Gollum diving around, looking for his ring? — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 14:56:39

Magical Tree: Another magical tree all covered with slime algae. Looks like from another world. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 15:01:59

Frogman at Cross: Photo shooting with frogman diver at the memorial cross. His brave buddy, Kermit the frog, which also has a ice diving license, is always sitting on his air tank and enjoys the view. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 15:06:30

Diver with Sidemount Tanks: The advantage of air tanks mounted on the side instead of the back is: one can take them off when it gets narrow. This technique is known from cave divers. Here he dives under one of the trees in the lake and doesn't touch anything. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/4.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 15:09:37

Under Trees: Diving under sunken trees in the far side of the lake. One gets the feeling like being part of a giant mikado game. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 15:13:19

Tree Trunks: Diving at the trunks of the sunken trees in the far part of Lake Samaranger. Unfortunately my buddy didn't look back for a nice picture. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α strobes, Lake Samaranger, Austria, 11 August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, August 11, 2013 15:20:36

Samarangersee

Der Samarangersee liegt in den Tiroler Alpen in Österreich am Fernpass auf etwa 1000 Meter über Meer. Er wird von Grundwasser gespiesen und besitzt keinen Abfluss. Dadurch ist das Wasser glasklar. Der See gehört zusammen mit dem Fernsteinsee zum Privatbesitz des Hotel Schloss Fernsteinsee. Beim Einchecken muss das Logbuch vorgewiesen werden. Tauchen ist nur für Hotelgäste in Verbindung mit zwei Übernachtungen mit Halbpension gestattet. Da der Boden mit Sedimenten bedeckt ist, welche durch unsachgemässes Tauchen aufgewirbelt werden, müssen Taucher die Tarierung beherrschen und mindestens 100 Tauchgänge aufweisen. Es darf nur vom einen Einstieg aus getaucht werden und die Anzahl gleichzeitiger Taucher ist auf vier beschränkt. 10. bis 11. August 2013, 34 Fotos.

Baum mit Schleimalgen: Auf dem Grund des Samarangersees findet man viele Bäume, welche von schleimigen Algen überwachsen sind und so eine mystische, märchenhaft verzauberte Welt erschaffen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 12:17:05

Ast mit Schleimalgen: Ein mit Schleimalgen überzogener Ast einer der vielen versunkenen Bäume im Samarangersee. Nicht berühren und Abstand halten, sonst ist dieses Kunstwerk der Natur zerstört. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 12:22:02

Lichtmuster: Zauberhafte Lichtmuster im Uferbereich mit Totalreflexion an der Wasseroberfläche. Ein leichter Wind wehte und kräuselte die Wasseroberfläche, welches zu diesen wunderschönen Mustern am Grund führte. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 12:39:19

Zaun: Der Zaun links vom Einstieg mit Spiegelung an der Wasseroberfläche. Evl. hätte ich die Luft noch länger anhalten sollen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 12:43:49

Halb-halb Einstieg: Halb-halb Aufnahme am Einsteig. Jetzt wäre ein Taucherfotomodell hinter dem Geländer ganz nett gewesen. Und eine rohe Kartoffel oder einen Apfel, um den Port damit einzureiben, damit es keine Schlieren gibt. Sowas fällt mir halt immer erst unter Wasser ein. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 12:46:06

Einstieg: Ein- und Ausstieg ist nur an dieser Treppe gestattet. Der Seegrund ist mit Kies bedeckt, welcher verhindert, dass die feinen Sedimente aufgewirbelt werden, die Sicht verschlechtern und sich auf den heiklen Unterwasserpflanzen absetzen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:19:37

Taucher mit Fischauge: Der See ist etwa 6 °C kalt. Das meist glasklare Wasser vermittelt einem das Gefühl, schwerelos im Raum zu schweben. Der Seegrund ist mit feinen Sedimenten bedeckt, die leicht aufgewirbelt werden, wenn die Tarierung unsachgemäss ist. Der grösste Teil des Seegrundes ist monoton, doch auf der dem Einstieg abgewandten Seite sind viele Baumstämme wie Zündhölzer durcheinander geworfen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:21:50

Baumstamm mit Schleimalgen: Die Stämme der versunkenen Bäume sind mit Schleimalgen bedeckt, die man nicht berühren sollte, sonst fallen sie leicht ab, wie auf diesem Bild hier gezeigt. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:25:33

Baumstamm Mikado: Wie Mikado-Hölzchen sind die vielen Baumstämme am Grund des Sees durcheinander gestapelt. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/60 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:30:13

Wurzel-Loch: Dieses Wurzel-Loch musste schon etliche male für Fotosujets herhalten. Leider wollte sich gerade kein Buddy finden, der sich fotogen hinter dem Loch plazieren könnte. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/100 s, F/3.2, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:33:51

Fotomotiv Kreuz: Das Gedenk-Kreuz im hinteren Teil des Samarangersees wurde sicher schon zig tausende male abgelichtet. Durch die glatte Wasseroberfläche ist noch der Waldrand zu erkennen. Leider hatte sich bei diesem Tauchgang gerade die Sonne hinter einer Wolke verzogen. Bei Sonnenschein erscheint das Wasser noch viel klarer. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:48:11

Kreuz: Das Kreuz ist wohl bekannteste Fotomotiv im Samarangersee. Den Atem musste ich lange genug anhalten, so dass die Wasseroberfläche nicht durch aufsteigende Luftblasen aufgewirbelt wurde. Auf der Gedenktafel steht: "In Erinnerung an unsere gemeinsamen Taucherlebnisse. Reiner Thiele, geb. 18. 11. 1940, gest. 11. 1. 1971, SV-Tauchsportgruppe" Ob er in dem See einen Tauchunfall erlitten hatte, ist mir unbekannt. Der See ist eigentlich ungefährlich und ca 14 Meter tief. Allerdings war Anfangs der 70er Jahre das Tauchequipment bei weitem noch nicht so zuverlässig wie heute. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:48:47

Baum in Seemitte: Der Baum etwa in der Seemitte ist über und über mit Schleimalgen bewachsen. Auf dem Seegrund befindet sich auch ein fragiler Algenteppich. Wie man hier sieht, waren vermutlich vor kurzem einige Taucher dem Boden zu nahe gekommen und hatten den Teppich aufgerissen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 10. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/160 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 10. August 2013 15:52:19

Zwei Taucher: Zwei Taucher und ein Frosch im Samarangersee. Die Sonne scheint und zaubert traumhafte Muster am Seeboden. Das lässt einen das 6 °C kalte Wasser schnell vergessen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/9.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:20:32

2 Taucher, 1 Frosch: Einfach nur schön im Sonnenschein durch das eiskalte und glasklare Wasser des Samarangersees zu paddeln. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:21:46

Drei Taucher: Drei Taucher im glasklaren Samarangersee. Einer ist mit zwei Sidemount-Flaschen unterwegs. Durch die ruhige Wasseroberfläche ist noch der Waldrand zu erkennen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:24:12

Sidemount-Taucher: Sind noch alle da? Ein Blick zurück lohnt sich nur schon wegen der wunderbaren Sicht im See. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:24:43

Vier Taucher: Das Limit für die Anzahl Taucher, welche gleichzeitig im Samarangersee tauchen dürfen auf vier gesetzt. Ich habe auch nur vier Taucher gesehen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:24:48

Taucher Haltungsnote 1a: So macht tauchen Spass. Glasklares Wasser und Sonnenschein. Kein Stress und gemütlich paddeln. Dumm ist nur, dass ich später festgestellt habe, dass die Kameraeinstellung versehentlich an diesem dritten Tauchgang im Samarangersee auf JPEG statt RAW gesetzt war. Mit JPEG hat man weniger Möglichkeiten Kontrast, Helligkeit und Farben nachträglich anzupassen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:27:36

Umgestürzte Tanne: Auf der einen Seite des Sees ist eine Tanne umgestürzt und in den See gefallen. Sie beginnt sich im kalten Wasser nur langsam zu zersetzen und mit Schleimalgen zu überwuchern. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:31:17

Tanne mit Froschtaucher: Ein Froschmann taucht unter der umgestürzten Tanne hindurch und geniesst die Spiele von Licht und Schatten unter den Zweigen. Nicht zu lange verweilen, denn die aufsteigenden Blasen lösen Teile der Äste, welche herab rieseln. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:32:51

Uferbereich: Im Uferbereich des Samarangersees bei der umgestürzten Tanne. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:34:57

Halb-Halb Tanne: Eine Halb-Halb-Aufnahme mit der umgestürzten Tanne. Hier habe ich zum ersten mal bemerkt, dass die Kamera alle Fotos dieses Tauchganges als JPEG und nicht als RAW gespeichert hatte. Man siehts an gut an den überbelichteten Wolken. Leider hatte ich auch keine halbe Kartoffel oder ein halber Apfel dabei. Damit kann man den Domeport einreiben und es sollen sich keine Schlieren bilden. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:36:26

Kreuz Fotoshooting: Fotoshooting am Gedenkkreuz. Das hier ist wohl das beliebteste Fotomotiv im Umkreis. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:43:19

Taucher am Kreuz: Taucher am Kreuz im Samarangersee. Dieses Gedenkkreuz für einen verstorbenen Taucher wurde sicher schon zig tausend mal abfotografiert. Besonders schön auf dieser Aufnahme sind die Schattenspiele am Waldrand, der noch durch die ruhige Wasseroberfläche zu erkennen ist. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:43:50

Äste mit Schleimalgen: Die Äste dieses versunkenen Baumes sind über und über mit Schleimalgen bedeckt. Hier habe ich versucht, diesen Baum fotogen in Szene zu setzen und im Gegenlicht die Sonne genau hinter einem vertikalen Ast positioniert. Das Wasser ist glasklar, die Oberfläche ganz ruhig. Kein Lüftchen regte sich. Den Atem lange anhalten, denn mit 180° Blickfeld und nach oben geneigt sind schnell die eigenen Luftblasen im Bild. Wenn alle Luftblasen weg sind, abdrücken. Das ein paarmal hintereinander, bis Winkel und Blitzintensität stimmen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:50:40

Taucher mit Heiligenschein: Blick nach unten mit dem Fischauge im glasklaren Wasser und ruhiger Wasseroberfläche. Live sah es beeindruckender aus, wie die Schatten der sich durch die Luftblasen verursachten Wellen langsam um meinen Schatten ausbreiteten. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 09:53:52

Taucher mit Kamera: Schön waren sie, die Tauchgänge im Samrangersee. Es stimmte alles. Das Wetter, die Leute, der See. Einzig die vielen Schnäpse am ersten Abend hätte ich bleiben lassen sollen. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 14:50:40

Baum mit dicken Schleimalgen: Dieser versunkene Baum ist dick mit Schleimalgen bewachsen. Die ganze Unterwasserlandschaft wirkt dadurch irgendwie mystisch und verzaubert. Fehlt nur noch, dass Gollum hier rumtaucht und seinen Ring sucht. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 14:56:39

Verzauberter Baum: Noch ein verzauberter Baum, der mit Schleimalgen bewachsen ist und wie aus einer anderen Welt aussieht. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 15:01:59

Froschmann am Kreuz: Fotoshooting mit Froschmann und Gedenkkreuz. Sein ständiger Buddy, Kermit der Frosch, der sogar ein Eistauch-Brevet besitzt, sitzt auf der Flasche und geniesst die Aussicht. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 15:06:30

Taucher mit Sidemount-Flaschen: Der Vorteil von Sidemount-Flaschen: Wenn es eng wird, kann man sie einfach ausklinken und vor sich her schieben. Diese Technik ist bei Höhlentauchern bekannt. Hier taucht er unter einem Stamm hindurch und ist tunlichst bedacht, nichts zu berühren. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/4.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 15:09:37

Unter Baumstämmen: Tauchen unter den Baumstämmen im hinteren Teil des Samarangersees. Man kommt sich vor wie in einem grossen Mikadospiel. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/125 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 15:13:19

Baumstämme: Bei den Stämmen der versunkenen Bäume im hinteren Teil des Samarangersees. Leider schaute mein Buddy nicht zurück für eine schöne Aufnahme. Wäre jetzt noch schön gewesen, wenn er ein wenig näher wäre und in die Kamera blickte mit einer Lampe in der Hand. — Nikon D200, Nikkor AF-S 10.5mm f/2.8 Fisheye, 2 x Sea & Sea YS-110α Blitze, Samarangersee, Österreich, 11. August 2013. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 11. August 2013 15:20:36