South Tour, Egypt

May 2014 to June 2014, 31 photos.

Table Coral: Two divers with a table coral in the foreground. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Friday, May 30, 2014 15:58:40

Current: When swimming against the current it helps putting the arms closely beside the tank on the back. This reduces the resistance profile. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Friday, May 30, 2014 16:10:54

Stonecoral with Anthias: A swarm of anthias are grouping together with a large stone coral. View from below towards the water surface. One has to hold the breath until all fish are coming back from their hiding place and form a cloud again. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Friday, May 30, 2014 16:30:06

Anthias with Stonecoral: And yet another block of corals clouded with orange anthias. View straight up towards the water surface. I had to hold my breath until all bubbles are gone and the fish came back. According to PADI I should be dead now. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Friday, May 30, 2014 16:36:48

Coral Reef with Ship: A steep reef wall full of anthias. On the water surface there is our safari boat covering the sun. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 04:36:49

Anemone with Diver: Clownfish are protecting their anemone. I had to get very close with my fisheye lens to the anemone which made the clownfish even more nervous. In the background is my dive buddy and are bubbles from some other divers. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 04:41:37

Coral Reef with Anthias: Here's a nice reef wall with many soft corals and orange anthias hiding between them. The view upwards shows the sun and the pattern of the waves on the water surface. Hold your breath and all fish are coming back. One short flash and all are gone again. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 04:45:38

Coral Block with Sun: And another rock full of soft and hard corals with many orange anthias. Usually I shoot with 1/250s exposure and use the f-stop for choosing the brightness of the water surface and the sun. The intensity of flash determines the brightness of the foreground. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/7.1, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 05:01:45

Softcoral under Rock: A softcoral growing top to bottom underneath a rock. It looked more interesting live than on the picture though. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 05:06:18

Coralblock in Backlight: And another block of corals in backlight with the sun. I probably should have repositioned the strobes to the left and right when shooting in portrait mode. There's a long shadow across the coral and it's illuminated from below. So many things to think about when underwater. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 05:12:34

i-Pix iPhone 5s Underwaterhosung: The i-Pix underwater housing for the iPhone 5s is really 100 percent waterproof. Once the water comes in, it never gets out. The O-ring was squeezed unevenly. Things that one should never doo nr. 13421: Buy an underwater housing that is cheaper than it's content. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 08:32:17

Diver with Napoleon: This napoleon wrasse is obviously trying to escape from the divers here. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/9.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 08:41:03

Sea Turtle: This sea turtle seemed to show interest in the reflection of itself in the camera's dome port. Unfortunately it didn't want to position itself so that I could shoot it in front of blue background. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 08:46:05

White Scorpionfish: A white scorpionfish is lying on a small stone coral on a steep wall. I better should have positioned both strobes to the right side. The light is on the top and bottom of the image and the scorpionfish lies in the shadow. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 08:52:19

Small Sorpionfish: A small scorpionfish is sitting on the sandy ground. It didn't want to let me getting closer for a head shot. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/14.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Saturday, May 31, 2014 17:59:34

Cavern Diver: Picture of a diver in the blue, shot out of a cavern. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.2, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sunday, June 1, 2014 05:20:58

Juvenile Fish: This small fish was very nervous and fast moving. It is probably the juvenile form. But I don't know which kind. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/11.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 04:30:46

Hawkfish: A hawkfish is sitting on top of a coral and is guarding it. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 04:58:00

Seastar: A red seastar on a yellow stone coral. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/16.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 05:13:38

Fish in Coral: A fish is hiding in the branches of a stone coral. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/11.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 05:18:21

Shipwreck with Divers: The wreck of a small sailing boat at dive site Abu Galawa Soghayr. In the blue water there are hanging some divers. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 08:50:00

Shipwreck: The wreck of a small sailing boat at dive site Abu Galawa Soghayr. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 08:51:14

Shipwreck with Divers: The wreck of a small sailing boat at dive site Abu Galawa Soghayr. My buddy and me stayed at the wreck while the oders took a tour against the current around the reef. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 08:55:18

Shipwreck Stern: The wreck of a small sailing boat at dive site Abu Galawa Soghayr. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 08:56:23

Glassfish in Wreck: The interiour of this small sailing boat was too small for a diver. It also didn't appear to be very stable as it was shaken a bit by the surf. A swarm of glassfish is hiding inside. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 09:00:05

Canyon: A canyon made by stone corals. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 100, Monday, June 2, 2014 09:13:14

Firecoral: Another boring picture of a firecoral. At least there are a few small fish on it. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 09:18:42

Diver with Wreck: My dive buddy and me are enjoying a quiet dive at this wreck. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/11.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 09:31:25

Four Divers: Four divers are swimming through the reef. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 15:12:38

Kissing Divers: A diving couple is kissing each other. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 15:13:19

Firecoral with Butterflyfish: And again a firecoral. This time with two yellow butterflyfish. It's a crop. The picture was shot freehand but the diver I wanted to shoot was partly out of the frame. There wasn't a second chance. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Monday, June 2, 2014 15:41:06

Südtour, Ägypten 2014

Eine Woche Tauchsafari im Süden Ägyptens, ab Port Ghalib mit der Heaven Fleet, zusammen mit Tauchkollegen von DiveZone. Wie üblich hatte ich schon nach ein paar Tagen Probleme mit den Ohren. Merke: Klimaanlagen sind Teufelsdinger und Ohren mit Trinkwasser, statt mit Wasser aus dem Wasserhahn spülen. Statt meiner grossen Kamera ist mein iPhone in dem billigen China-Gehäuse abgesoffen. Beim ersten Test wars noch dicht. Mai 2014 bis Juni 2014, 31 Fotos.

Tischkoralle: Zwei Taucher mit einer Tischkoralle im Vordergrund. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.5, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Freitag, 30. Mai 2014 15:58:40

Strömung: Beim Schwimmen gegen die Strömung hilt es, wenn man die Arme flach an die Seite der Flaschen legt. Dadurch verringert sich das Strömungsprofil und der Wasserwiderstand. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Freitag, 30. Mai 2014 16:10:54

Steinkoralle mit Fahnenbarschen: Fahnenbarsche tummeln sich um eine grosse Steinkoralle. Blick von unten gegen die Wasseroberfläche. Man muss die Luft lange anhalten, bis die Fische wieder aus ihrem Versteck kommen und sich wie eine Wolke formieren. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Freitag, 30. Mai 2014 16:30:06

Korallenblock mit Fahnenbarschen: Und noch ein Korallenblock umringt von orangen Fahnenbarschen. Blick diesmal fast senkrecht von unten nach oben. Gemäss PADI wär ich schon lange tot, da ich auch hier die Luft anhalten musste, bis alle Fische hervor gekommen sind und die eigenen Blasen verflogen sind. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Freitag, 30. Mai 2014 16:36:48

Korallenriff mit Schiff: Orange Fahnenbarsche tummeln sich an einer Steilwand an einem Korallenriff. An der Wasseroberfläche schwimmt unser Safariboot und verdeckt die Sonne. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 04:36:49

Anemone mit Taucher: Clownfische bewachen ihre Anemone an der Steilwand. Im Hintergrund Taucher. Mit einem Fischaugen-Objektiv muss man schon sehr nahe an eine Anemone ran gehen, was die Clownfische besonders nervös macht. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 04:41:37

Korallenriff Fahnenbarschen: Hier eine schön mit Weichkorallen überwachsene Riffwand in der sich orange Fahnenbarsche tummeln. Der Blick nach oben zeigt die Sonne und die Zeichnung der Wellen auf der Wasseroberfläche. Nur mit angehaltenem Atem kommen die scheuen Fahnenbarsche wieder hervor. Ein Blitz und alle Fische zucken zusammen. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 04:45:38

Korallenblock mit Sonne: Und wieder ein mit Weich- und Softkorallen überwachsener Felsen über dem sich die orangen Fahnenbarsche tummeln. Meist fotografiere ich mit 1/250s Verschlusszeit und reguliere mit der Blende wie hell die Wasseroberfläche und Sonne erscheint. Die Helligkeit des Vordergrunds wird über die Blitzintensität geregelt. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/7.1, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 05:01:45

Weichkoralle unter Felsen: Eine kopfüber wachsende Weichkoralle unter einem Felsen. Von blossem Auge sah es irgendwie interessanter aus als später auf dem Foto. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 05:06:18

Korallenblock im Gegenlicht: Und nochmals ein Korallenblock im Gegenlicht. Ich hätte besser mal die Blitze umpositioniert, dass sie bei Hochkant auch links und rechts stehen, statt oben und unten. Der Schattenwurf ist etwas ungünstig. Unter Wasser muss man an so viele Sachen denken. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 05:12:34

i-Pix iPhone 5s Unterwassergehäuse: Das i-Pix Unterwassergehäuse fürs iPhone 5s ist wirklich 100% wasserdicht. Einmal drin, kommt es nicht mehr raus. Der O-Ring war ungleichmässig eingequetscht. Dinge, die man nie tun sollte Nr. 13421: Ein Unterwassergehäuse kaufen, das billiger als der Inhalt ist. Eigentlich wollte ich die Film- und Fotoeigenschaften der iPhone-Kamera für Unterwasser testen und darüber einen Bericht in der Taucher Revue schreiben. Tja, ging nicht auf Spesenkosten. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/2.8, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 08:32:17

Taucher mit Napoleon: Dieser Napoleonfisch versucht offensichtlich der Gruppe Taucher zu entkommen. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/9.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 08:41:03

Meeresschildkröte: Eine Meeresschildkröte interessierte sich für ihr eigenes Spiegelbild im Dome-Port. Leider wollte sie nicht so schwimmen, dass sie vor blauem Hintergrund zu fotografieren wäre. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 08:46:05

Weisser Drachenkopf: Ein weisser Drachenkopf liegt auf einer kleinen Steinkoralle an einer Steilwand. Hier hätte ich wohl besser beide Blitze auf die rechte Seite positioniert. Sie leuchten oben und unten und der Drachenkopf ist im Schatten. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/4.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 08:52:19

Kleiner Drachenkopf: Ein kleiner Drachenkpf sitzt auf dem Sand. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/14.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Samstag, 31. Mai 2014 17:59:34

Taucher aus Grotte: Ein Taucher vor tiefem Blau, aufgenommen aus einer Grotte. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/3.2, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Sonntag, 1. Juni 2014 05:20:58

Juveniler Fisch: Dieser kleine Zappelphilipp muss eine Jungform eines Fisches sein, aber ich weiss nicht von welcher Art. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/11.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 04:30:46

Korallenwächter: Ein Korallenwächter sitzt auf einer Koralle und bewacht sie. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 04:58:00

Seestern: Ein roter Seestern sitzt auf einer gelben Steinkoralle. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/16.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 05:13:38

Fisch in Koralle: Ein Riffbarsch versteckt sich in den Ästen einer Steinkoralle. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/11.0, 105 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 05:18:21

Schiffswrack mit Tauchern: Das Wrack eines kleinen Segelschiffes am Tauchplatz Abu Galawa Soghayr. Rundherum hängen Taucher im Wasser. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 08:50:00

Schiffswrack: Das Wrack eines kleinen Segelschiffes am Tauchplatz Abu Galawa Soghayr. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 08:51:14

Schiffswrack mit Taucher: Das Wrack eines kleinen Segelschiffes am Tauchplatz Abu Galawa Soghayr. Mein Buddy und ich blieben in der Nähe des Wracks, während sich der Rest der Gruppe aufmachte, gegen die Strömung durchs Riff zu paddeln. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 08:55:18

Schiffswrack Heck: Das Wrack eines kleinen Segelschiffes am Tauchplatz Abu Galawa Soghayr. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 08:56:23

Glasfische im Wrack: Das Innere des kleinen Segelschiffes war zu eng zum reintauchen und es machte auch keinen sonderlich stabilen Eindruck und schwankte in der Dünung leicht hin- und her. Ein Schwarm Glasfische versteckt sich im Wrack. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 09:00:05

Canyon: Ein von Steinkorallen erschaffener Canyon. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 100, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 09:13:14

Feuerkoralle: Und noch ein langweiliges Foto einer Feuerkoralle. Wenigstens hats ein paar kleine Fische. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 09:18:42

Taucher mit Wrack: Mein Tauchbuddy und ich genossen einen ruhigen Tauchgang am Wrack eines kleinen Segelschiffes am Tauchplatz Abu Galawa Soghayr. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/11.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 09:31:25

Vier Taucher: Vier Taucher schwimmen durchs Riff. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/6.3, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 15:12:38

Küssende Taucher: Ein Taucherpärchen küsst sich. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/8.0, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 15:13:19

Feuerkoralle mit Schmetterlingsfischen: Und nochmals eine Feuerkoralle, diesmal mit zwei gelben Schmetterlingsfischen. Ist ein Ausschnitt. Eigentlich hätte noch ein Taucher drauf sein sollen, doch der war abgeschnitten. Hatte das Foto freihändig aufgenommen. Nikon D200, 1/250 s, F/5.6, 10.5 mm, ISO 200, Montag, 2. Juni 2014 15:41:06